Rest In Peace Boss

https://i0.wp.com/d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20100713/capt.ac4cee22892a43aab990092c40c6f15c-ac4cee22892a43aab990092c40c6f15c-0.jpg
George Steinbrenner, the powerful owner of the New York Yankees has died of a heart attack at the age of 80. 

George Steinbrenner took over the Yankees on January 3rd 1973, two days before I was born, so the Steinbrenner era is all I have ever known as a Yankees fan.  I am grateful for  the seven world championships that he brought New York during his tenure and my lifetime, especially the five in the last fifteen years. 

Despite the controversy (he was suspended twice by Major League Baseball) and his ongoing battles with managers and players, the impact he has had on both the Yankees and the game of baseball are immeasurable.  I wrote on his birthday that I felt he deserved to be in Cooperstown, and it is too bad that he did not live to enjoy that accomplishment.

It has been a sad week for the Yankees,  and an end of an era.  You will be missed, Boss.  Hopefully we can win #28 in your memory. 

Leave a comment